How To: Whipped Shea Butter Cream

Shea butter

 

I talked about the importance of moisture in my deep conditioning post (I got you girl, click here if you haven’t read it yet). All that would be in vain without sealing in your moisture as I mentioned in that post. This whipped shea butter cream moisturizer is one of my favourite hair care products in my regimen. It is an all natural, easy to make product, which adds long lasting moisture to my hair and protects my ends. I literally swear by this product. This whipped shea butter locks moisture into my naturally dry 4c strands, and is a staple in my hair maintenance and care regime. If you’re hair is feeling dry, this could be exactly what you need to breathe life back into your thirsty tresses. Follow this easy step-by-step guide and whip yourself up a fresh batch!

 

100_2243

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • An electric mixer
  • A large glass bowl
  • Raw Shea butter
  • Coconut oil
  • Olive oil
  • Castor oil
  • Rose water(optional)
  • One clear plastic bag
  • A spatula
  • Scissors
  • A clean jar

 

Let’s get started then. Place the raw Shea butter into the large glass bowl. (I pretty much eyeball the portions, place enough raw Shea butter to fill your jar.)

100_2246

 

Turn your mixer on and begin to mix the raw Shea butter. This is to break down those large solid pieces and make them easier to work with.

100_2250

Once the raw Shea is broken down, add about four tablespoons of Organic coconut oil. (I use Tropical Coconut oil that is available in Nakumatt and other stores. It retails for about 70-200 shillings depending on the size that you get.)

100_2251

Add four tablespoons of organic Extra Virgin Olive oil. Whichever brand you prefer is fine. I used Pietro Coricelli Extra Virgin Olive oil, also available in Nakumatt.

100_2252

Add in two tablespoons of Castor Oil. I used Ideal Castor oil, also from Nakumatt. Turn your mixer on and whip up all those oils together until the consistency of your Shea mix is soft and fluffy.

100_2253

I then added one cap full of Red Rose Water. The reason i say that this is optional is because this is a product I have just added into my haircare regimen. I am still trying it out and will have a full review for you guys in the weeks to come. I added it because it is an all natural rose extract which stimulates hair growth, but mostly because it smells divine! (Also available at Nakumatt and retails for about 80 shillings)

100_2255

Mix it all together once more. The mixture should look light and creamy.

100_2257

Prepare your plastic bag beside your large bowl. Use your spatula to place your Shea mixture into the plastic bag.

100_2258

100_2259

Once your whipped Seha butter mix is in the plastic bag, cut a medium sized hole at the bottom right corner of the plastic bag. (A technique i learned from watching one too many pastry shows on the Food network)

100_2261

Squeeze your mixture into a clean jar. Using the plastic bag technique minimizes the mess and maximizes the amount of this precious Shea mix that you get into your jar. (no-body got time for wastage!)

100_2265

Seal your jar tight, and ‘store in a cool dry place’ (giggles)

100_2266

This should last you quite a while depending on how you use it. A little does go a long way. This makes a great thoughtful gift idea too! Do try out this recipe and let me know what you think ladies.

100_2267

Happy Nappy Hair!

Yvette Kemi

