Adding Moisture to Thirsty Tresses (My Night Time Regimen)

Let’s face it, we all have those thirsty hair moments (some of us more often than not) when our hair is super dry and crunchy. All hope is not lost, you’re not a natural hair FAIL! Keep calm, sip some tea (or something stronger, no one’s judging) and read this post.

 

Reality check: NATURAL HAIR IS NATURALLY DRY! There is no magical potion or concoction that will automatically fix your dryness for life. Sorry to disappoint you if you were expecting a one-time solution for your dryness, moisture is something you have to consistently add to your hair.

 

Whether I’m wearing my hair out (in an afro, or in a stretched state), or in a protective style (such as twists or braids-with no extensions), I’ll show you how I keep my hair nourished in a few easy steps. You can choose to do this every night, or on alternating nights depending on your hair’s moisture needs. If your hair is uber thirsty, you may be overdue for a good old deep conditioning treatment!

 

Here’s what you’ll need:

IMG_4446

  • Plastic hair clips- For sectioning your hair
  • Spray Bottle Mixture- click here for my recipe
  • Home-made Whipped Shea Butter Cream- click here for the recipe

 

I’m working with stretched hair, but like I mentioned earlier, I use this moisturising method with my hair in any state whether in an afro, two-strand twists, or braids. I had been wearing my hair out for about a week at this point and I had had enough. My hair really dry and my ends were crunchy due to the friction caused during styling and manipulation. Let’s fix that!

IMG_4443

Start by separating your hair into four sections (or as many sections works best for you) I find that sectioning my hair makes it much less overwhelming to work with. Sectioning also ensures that I thoroughly moisturise each strand of hair.

  IMG_4447

 Now working with a section at a time, spritz your hair with the spray bottle mixture. Ensure that the entire section is sprayed but don’t over-do it, you don’t want your hair soaking wet.

IMG_4449

Next let’s seal in that moisture. The spray bottle mixture contains water and natural penetrative oils such as coconut oil and olive oil, which penetrate the hair shaft and nourish the hair from within. Now we need to trap that moisture into each strand using a sealant such as my DIY Whipped Shea Butter Cream. Castor oil works as a great sealant too. The purpose of a sealant is to lock the moisture in, and prevent moisture loss from your hair.

IMG_4450

Don’t forget to coat your ends. Your ends are the oldest and most fragile parts of your hair and require some extra TLC!

 IMG_4451

I want to maintain my hair in a stretched state so I twist my hair and further wrap it into a bantu knot to achieve this. You can skip this step if you’d like. I find that my hair is much more manageable in a stretched state (whether free or in twists or braids) as opposed to being in an afro. With my hair length and thickness, wearing my hair in an afro leads to knotting and tangling which is a nightmare for me. Like I said, it’s a personal preference so do what works best for you and your hair.

IMG_4454

IMG_4457

 

Repeat this on the other sections of your hair, and you’re all done! Time to get ready for bed!

IMG_4465

IMG_4473

 

Don’t forget to wrap your hair up. Use a silk/satin scarf or bonnet. Bon nuit!

IMG_4477

 

Happy Nappy Hair!

 

Yvette Kemi.

