Out and About: Naivasha Edition!

Things have definitely gotten ahead of me lately, trying to strike that balance with school and life in general has not been easy. When things seem upside down, sometimes the best therapy is to step outside, take a break and bask in the beauty that is our country!

 

100_2839

 

I kick started the month of May with a well deserved trip out of town, and boy am I glad I did! It was exactly what I needed to get my groove back, and give me that added spunk! Seeing as my semester has officially come to an end (you have no idea how good it feels to write that) you will definitely be seeing a lot more of me on these blog streets. It’s safe to say I’M BACK! Well…I never really went anywhere per se, but hey, let’s roll with it!

 

What’s a trip to Naivasha without a boat ride right? Nothing beats getting up close and candid with HIPPOS…*cringe*

 

100_2806

Technology….SMH!

100_2808

Such a pretty rainbow 🙂

100_2818

 

I was feeling hella laid back and wanted my outfit to be functional, yet still cute! I decided to rock my cut-off jeans and dressed them up with a white peplum top, and a statement neckpiece. I love how comfortable and simple this outfit is, I mean, who wants to be driving out of town in a stiff outfit right?

 

IMG-20150501-WA0004

 

Now, I reaslised I didn’t take detailed pictures of the hair while out there, so I made sure to do so before putting up this post. It’s a simple up-do protective style. I flat twisted the back and sides and then gathered them into a top-knot bun.

Flat Twist 1

I wanted a little pompadour for my front middle section, but didn’t want to leave this section exposed. (That beats the point of a protective style!) I decided to two-strand twist this section, giving me room to style it as I please without compromising the integrity of the protective style.

 

100_2810

 

This took me about 30 minutes to complete, so its definitely quick and easy to do! I kept this style for two and a half weeks, making sure to wrap my hair with a satin scarf before bed to ensure it stayed neat. I’m definitely trying to be more adventurous with my protective styles and I’m looking forward to sharing them with you!

 

Happy Nappy Hair,

 

Yvette Kemi

