Out and About: Curl Talk with Felicia Leatherwood

100_3089

DISCLAIMER: Grab a drink and/or a light snack, it’s one of those!

Curl Talk 11

image: James Gichanga

I’m going to give you a second to soak that in…Felicia Leatherwood in Nairobi *screams* just pinch me until I turn blue! I’ve been a huge fan of her and her work for a really long time, so it was an absolute privilege to not only attend the Curl Talk event, but personally connect with her and gain some valuable Natural Hair knowledge.

Curl Talk 7

Close up of my braid out (image: courtesy)

If you are a natural and you don’t know Ms. Leatherwood- I honestly have no idea how, or why this would be- please, please stop what you’re doing; open a separate tab and GOOGLE! Felicia is the ‘natural hair whisperer’ and stylist to the stars. She is responsible for the gorgeous red carpet styles of A-listers like Jill Scott, Viola Davis, and Teyonah Parris, need I say more?

Curl talk 5

Selfie with Sheila, what a beauty!

Curl talk 10

Sharon serving some natural hair gorgeousness in this weave (image: James Gichanga)

Shout out to Naturals in Nairobi and the ever-gorgeous Ayanna James for bringing Felicia down, and giving the Kenyan natural hair community an opportunity to learn from the best! We are so grateful, I mean, at least I am. I attended the first Curl Talk event held on Saturday 1-5pm at Sankara Hotel.

Curl talk 8

Sharon (Thisisess), Yours Truly, Sharon (Ajani Handmade) and Sheila (image: James Gichanga)

The set up was absolutely gorgeous, but what made the event that much more spectacular was the beautiful heads of well-moisturized hair, and smiles that lit up the entire room. I got the chance to meet and mingle with a few of my readers, and a bunch of enthusiastic naturals who just wanted to exchange tips and spread love. An all round stellar event! It was also amazing to meet and interact with local natural hair product vendors, shout out to Marini Naturals, Ajani Handmade, Shea by Asal and Keyara just to name a few…I’m really big on supporting local brands!

Curl Talk 1

Felicia with these gorgeous ladies (S/O Josephine and Wachu of Kurlly Diaries)

Curl Talk 2

Curl Talk 13

Curl Talk 12

image: James Gichanga

I also got a chance to also do an in-depth one on one interview with Felicia, I plan to share information from our conversationwith you in an upcoming post. For all the naturals who were unable to attend the event, I’ve summarized the key points she emphasized on Saturday, as well as added information from our interview so be on the look out for that. As always, thank you for reading beloved one!

 

Happy Nappy Hair,

 

Yvette Kemi

 

 

